mini-rhubarb-pieMini pie! Though they can be a bit tough to find, I love my mini, 7-inch pie plates. I have two, actually: one in the classic heron pattern used by Tai’s Uncle Charlie at Hog Bay Pottery, and one deep-dish 7-inch by Emile Henry that I snagged years ago at a little shop in Bedford Village. And they are not so mini, really: a quarter of the pie is still a hefty serving, and with ice cream the pie could easily serve six. But somehow, a mini pie is much less daunting than a full pie: a mere pound of fruit makes a nicely stuffed mini pie, you can almost eyeball the sugar & cornstarch you need for the filling, and I can nearly always round up enough pastry dough scraps in the freezer to make it work.

Since someone (raises hand sheepishly) in the household enjoys

View original post 656 more words

