The Hungry Artist

chicken katsu

My mom is here visiting again! When she arrived from a day of traveling, I served Chicken Katsu for dinner (with rice, miso soup, and misogreen beans- not a low sodium meal!). It was comfort food Japanese style. When I lived in Japan, this was a favorite dish to order at a mom and pop type of restaurant –the equivalent of a nice, hot diner meal here in the U.S.

Basically Chicken Katsu is breaded chicken served with a Japanese savory sauce made up of ketchup and Worcestershire sauce.

I like to trim the chicken breasts to make them thinner using kitchen shears. Then I pound them to an even thickness in a Ziploc bag.

cooked

To bread, I simply coat in flour, then egg, then panko (Japanese bread crumbs).

breaded

Then, I fry them up in a skillet and keep warm in the oven while I continue to cook…

View original post 243 more words

